About MRSC – About the Center The Municipal Research & Services Center (MRSC) is a non-profit, independent organization created in 1969 to continue programs established in 1934 under the Bureau of Governmental Research at the University of Washington. Our mission is “working together for excellence in local government through professional consultation, research and information services.”

The Center is governed by a volunteer board of directors drawn from local government and the community-at-large. MRSC does not engage in political activity. We do work in cooperation with the Association of Washington Cities and the Washington State Association of Counties, and the Washington Association of County Officials, advocacy organizations for cities and counties.

Individual cities and counties pay no fees for the Center’s programs. Instead, programs are cooperatively funded out of a small portion of the cities’ distributions of the Liquor Board profits and the counties’ distribution of the Liquor Excise tax. Funding is provided through a biennial contract with the Municipal Research Council, a state agency.

The Council has 14 members: two appointed by the President of the Senate; two appointed by the Speaker of the House; the director of the Department of Community, Trade and Economic Development; six city and town officials appointed by the Association of Washington Cities, two county officials appointed by the Washington State Association of Counties, and one county official appointed by the Washington Association of County Officials.

At least one city or town official is from a city having a population of twenty thousand or more; at least one from a city having a population of one thousand five hundred to twenty thousand; and at least one from a town having a population of less than one thousand five hundred. The terms of legislators, city, town, or county officials is dependent upon continuance in elective office. Members serve two year terms.